Auto racing for Nov. 20-22, 2015

Share on Facebook Print Print
Associated Press
November 19, 2015



Site: Homestead, Florida.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Channel, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), qualifying (NBC Sports Channel, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (CNBC, 9-10 a.m.; NBC Sports Channel, noon-1 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (NBC, 1-6 p.m.).

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 400.5 miles, 267 laps.

Last year: Kevin Harvick won his first season title, driving from 12th to first over the final 15 laps. He edged Denny Hamlin, Ryan Newman and Joey Logano in the winner-take-all Chase for the Sprint Cup finale.

Last week: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the rain-shortened race at Phoenix. Harvick, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. joined Jeff Gordon in the four-man Chase showdown.

Fast facts: The season title will be decided by finishing order among Gordon, Harvick, Busch and Truex. ... Gordon earned a spot in the final four with his victory three weeks ago at Martinsville. Harvick, Busch and Truex advanced on points in the third three-race segment of the Chase, with Truex edging Carl Edwards by five points for the final spot. ... The 44-year-old Gordon is making his final career start. He won championships in 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001 and has 93 career victories, all for Hendrick Motorsports. ... Harvick has three victories in his second season with Stewart-Haas Racing. ... Busch has four victories this year for Joe Gibbs Racing. He missed the first 11 races after breaking his right leg and left foot in the Xfinity opener at Daytona. NASCAR gave him a starts waiver to the Chase. ... Truex has one victory in his second season with Furniture Row Racing. ... Gordon won at Homestead in 2012 and has a track-record seven top-five finishes. He and Harvick share the track record with 12 top-10 finishes. ... Matt Kenseth is returning from a two-race suspension for intentionally wrecking Logano at Martinsville.




Site: Homestead, Florida.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Channel, 12:30-3 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (CNBC, 10-11:30 a.m.), race, 2 p.m. (NBC, 1:30-5 p.m.).

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth won the season finale, holding off Kyle Busch.

Last week: Busch won at Phoenix for his track-record eighth series victory. He has six victories this season and a record 76 overall.

Fast facts: Chris Buescher leads the season standings, 18 points ahead of defending series champion Chase Elliott. Ty Dillon is third, 22 points back, and Regan Smith fourth, 24 points behind. ... Busch is making his 15th start of the year in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 54 Toyota. Truck Series leader Erik Jones is driving Gibbs' No. 20 car. ... Roger Penske's No. 22 car wrapped up its third straight owners' title two week ago with Brad Keselowski's victory in Texas. Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney and Alex Tagliani also have driven the car, with Blaney getting the start Saturday.




Site: Homestead, Florida.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 8-10:30 a.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3-4:30 p.m.), race, 7 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 6:30-9 p.m.).

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 201 miles, 134 laps.

Last year: Matt Crafton finished ninth in the finale to win his second straight season title. Darrell Wallace Jr. won the race.

Last week: Timothy Peters won at Phoenix after championship contenders Crafton and Erik Jones wrecked racing for the lead.

Fast facts: The 19-year-old Jones leads the standings, 19 points ahead of Tyler Reddick and 32 in front of Crafton. Jones has three victories this year for Kyle Busch Motorsports and also has won twice for Joe Gibbs Racing in the Xfinity Series. Reddick has two victories for Brad Keselowski Racing, and Crafton has a series-high five for ThorSport Racing.



Next race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Nov. 29, Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Last week: Mercedes' Nico Rosberg won the Brazilian Grand Prix for his fifth victory of the season. Teammate and season champion Lewis Hamilton was second.


U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Western World Championship, Thursday-Saturday, USA Raceway, Tucson, Arizona.

Share on Facebook Print Print