Tornado watch declared for southern Wisconsin

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
August 18, 2015

SULLIVAN—Much of southern Wisconsin is under a tornado watch until 10 p.m., the National Weather Service said Tuesday.

A watch means that conditions are ripe for the development of a tornado.

Counties included in the watch are Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Marquette, Monroe, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Vernon and Walworth.

The watch also encompasses adjoining parts of Iowa and Illinois.

“Thunderstorms will become likely over south-central Wisconsin late this afternoon and all of southern Wisconsin tonight,” the weather service said on its website.

“There is a marginal risk for severe thunderstorms for all of southern Wisconsin, especially this evening, … Damaging winds are possible with these storms, along with a risk of tornadoes, especially over south-central Wisconsin.”


Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print