Elkhorn wins tennis subsectional; Janesville advances six players

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
May 27, 2015

Elkhorn High’s boys tennis team won the Division 1 Badger Subsectional meet Wednesday.

The Elks finished with 18 points, with Lake Geneva Badger second with 16. Due to rain in Lake Geneva, the meet was actually moved to Janesville, with the first flight playing at Premier Tennis & Fitness and others playing at Palmer Park.

Janesville Craig was fourth with 10 team points and will send singles players Bearach McCarthy (No. 3) and Christian Voskuil (No. 4) to today’s Madison Memorial Sectional. The No. 1 doubles team of Adam Masters and Jimmy Flynn also advanced after getting a bye as the subsectional’s top team.

“I was glad to see Christian make it for a second straight year,” Craig coach Justin Long said. “He missed some of the season with a back injury, but he played well. And Bearach is a good, four-year player. I’m proud of him.”

Sam Amundson and David Howell of Janesville Parker also advanced at No. 1 doubles.

“I’m excited for them,” Parker coach Mike Fuhrmann said. “They earned themselves the two seed and played real well. They’ll play Oregon in the crossover. We’re excited for the opportunity. They’re playing their best tennis of their year the last couple weeks.”

The Madison Memorial Sectional will take place at Nielsen Tennis Stadium beginning at 10:30 a.m. today.

Division 1

Badger Subsectional


Elkhorn 18, Lake Geneva Badger 16, Fort Atkinson 12, Janesville Craig 10, Milton 8, Beloit Memorial 6, Janesville Parker 2.


(Top four qualify at No. 1; Top two at No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4)

No. 1—Liam Bradley (LGB); Jackson Van Den Heuvel (Mil); Drew Collins (BM); Willy Lemke (FA).

No. 2—Matt Nelson (Elk); Al Kulik (LGB).

No. 3—Bearach McCarthy (JC); Logan Riese (Elk).

No. 4—Jorge Mayorga (LGB); Christian Voskuil (JC).


(Top four qualify at No. 1; Top two at No. 2 and No. 3)

No. 1—Adam Masters-Jimmy Flynn (JC); Aaron Whales-Carter Olson (Elk); Ryan Baker-Justin Gdaniec (FA); Sam Amundson-David Howell (JP).

No. 2—Adam Smith_Domas Zakauskas (LGB); Drayke Webster-Noah Lindenberg (Elk).

No. 3—Matt Tescj-Andrew Yang (FA); Sean Harvatine-Ethan Langer (Mil).



•  Edgewood dominates Division 2 East Troy Sectional—The Crusaders won all four singles crowns and two of three doubles titles en route to the sectional title.

Edgewood had 54 points, with Grafton a distant second with 32.

Cecil Lingard of Edgewood won the No. 1 singles title in three sets over Plymouth’s Matt Primozic.

Monroe’s David Shon and Jefferson’s Ty Jay both advanced at No. 1 singles by finishing in the top four.

Division 2

East Troy Sectional


Madison Edgewood 54, Grafton 32, McFarland 25, Plymouth 21, Monroe 17, Kewaskum 14, Ripon 12, St. Mary’s Springs 10, Big Foot/Williams Bay 10, Whitewater 6, Jefferson 6, St. John’s 4, East Troy 4, Delava-Darien 0, Edgerton 0, University Lake School 0.


(Top four at No. 1 singles advance to state; Top one at No. 2)

No. 1—Title: Cecil Lingard (ME) def. Matt Primozic (Ply), 6-1, 0-6, 10-7; Third: David Shon (Mon) def. Ty Jay (Jeff), 6-2, 7-6.

No. 2—Title: Noah Colletti (ME) def. Silas Setterstrom (Mon), 6-1, 6-1.

No. 3—Title: Felipo Campos (ME) def. Josh Bolstad (McF), 6-3, 6-0.

No. 4—Title: Connor Maloney (ME) def. Colin Maus (McF), 6-0, 6-1.


(Top four at No. 1 singles advance to state; Top one at No. 2)

No. 1—Title: Kirsh-Obrien (ME) def. Binversic-Binversic (Ply), 6-2, 6-2; Third: Noriega Monahan (Mon) def. Mosin-Bauman (Graf), 6-3, 6-4.

No. 2—Title: Thelan-Garlock (ME) def. Munoz-Heidenreich (BF), 6-2, 6-2.

No. 3—Title: Lorge-Neuser (Graf) def. Croake-Dunn (ME), 6-2, 6-2.

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print