Connor Perkins first-team all-Big Eight; Mauermann top coach

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
March 11, 2015

Although the season ended for the Janesville Bluebirds in a tough state quarterfinal loss, the postseason individual accolades continue.

The city's boys co-op hockey team placed forward Connor Perkins on the all-Big Eight first team, while John Mauermann shared Coach of the Year honors.

Madison Memorial senior forward Ty Pelton-Byce, who led the conference in scoring with 74 points, was chosen player of the year.

Perkins, a Janesville Craig senior, led the Bluebirds in scoring with 45 points. He had 21 goals and 24 assists, including a shorthanded goal in Janesville's 4-2 loss to Superior at state. Perkins also scored the go-ahead goal in Janesville's 7-2 win over Kettle Moraine in the sectional title game.

“Connor's skill set improved each and every year,” Mauermann said. “He's got a real quick shot and is a scorer.

“He's had success at every level he has played at, including being on Team Wisconsin, which won the Tier-1 national championship in 2014.”

Mauermann coached Janesville to its first state berth since 2008 and fourth overall. The Bluebirds finished the season 17-9-2 overall.

Craig High senior forward Harry Henschler was honorable mention.



Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print