Walworth and its buildngs celebrate rich history
A photo gallery of this Mystery Place is HERE
The former Alberth Bros. meat market was erected in 1904 by Rudolph and Charles Alberth. After Charles married Lucy Schulz, he worked for the railroad.
According to Nancy Alberth Lehman, after Rudolph sold the building, it became an ice cream parlor, a hardware store and a barber shop.
In 1926, Lester Sullivan rented the store. The ice cream store, according to Sullivan, was run by a little old man and a lady. It was called Banty Bancroft’s Ice Cream Parlor.
The ice cream parlor became the Goelzer and Perrin Barber Shop. Next in line was the Schweizer Hardware Store.
Schweizer was the first one in the village to have a hardware store. He eventually sold the building to August Krueger. The building then housed the Ashby Barber Shop.
The next owner was Charles Ferris. The A&P obtained a five- year lease from Ferris in 1926. Their store opened in November 1926 with Lester Sullivan as the manager.
In 1929, Sullivan bought the building. Joseph Robinson became a partner with Sullivan in 1931. It became a Clover Farm Store in 1950. Paul Pruessing bought the store in 1961.
Other businesses to occupy this building include The Times, Greenblatt Financial Service and The What’s New Shop.
The village is filled with such history. On Aug. 25, Walworth will be celebrating its 175th anniversary. Help the village, which was originally called Douglass Corners, remember its past.